Book Review: Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo

Leven Thumps: Gateway

“It is a place your mind enjoys keeping from you, yet it is as a thick patch of goose bumps or as any strong nagging notion.”

─ Obert Skye


“In fact, on those days when it’s warm and you suddenly feel a chill, or a part of you feels cold, it’s just your body remembering the time it experienced the sensation of being an ice cube .

─ Obert Skye

This site contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.


Book Information

Title: Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo

Author: Obert Skye

Publisher: Aladdin Paperbacks an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division, New York

ISBN 978-1-4169-2806-5

Genre: YA Fiction, Fantasy

Ages: 10 and up

359 pages


Book Summary:

Fourteen-year-old Leven Thumps has a wretched friendless existence in Burnt Culvert, Oklahoma. Orphaned at birth and raised by his aunt who constantly reminds him how much of a bother he is to her. Everything is about to drastically change for Leven though. Suddenly, he gains three new friends and an important mission. His new companions Clover, Winter, and Geth all from the land of Foo arrive to convince Leven that he has the power to save Foo. With their help, Leven discovers he is no longer unwanted or alone and overcomes his doubt to save all of them and find the gateway to Foo.

Book Rating   3/5

Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo is the first book in the Unfoogettable series by Obert Skye. The series contains five books featuring the world of Foo.

Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo follows the trials and troubles of four companions as they journey to return to Foo. Leven is the only one who has never actually been to Foo. His companions Geth, Winter, and Clover came to our world to help Leven find the gateway. Leven has a connection to the gateway as his grandfather is the original creator.

Leven’s entire existence has been trying to fade into the background and being told how much of a bother he is by his family. Suddenly Leven’s world changes as he meets Clover, Winter, and Geth who tell him he is meant for greater things and he is special.

Not only does Leven battle his self-doubt and fears, but an enemy from Foo also keeps sending shadows and monsters to hunt down Leven and his companions. Special magical powers may help defeat the monsters, well they would if Leven could figure out how to use them.

One component I liked about the book was the way that Skye gave the main characters of Leven and Winter special magical abilities, but these abilities didn’t always work according to plan if at all. Both characters had to depend more on each other and their wits.

The part I disliked would be that Skye seemed to just have both the characters of Leven and Winter going with the flow too much, they didn’t really question the why they were doing this overly much.

Overall, Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo was an enjoyable read. The story contains action and various moments of humor.

For those interested in the complete series, the books are in the following order:

Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo

Leven Thumps and the Whispered Secret

Leven Thumps and the Eyes of Want

Leven Thumps and the Wrath of Ezra

Leven Thumps and the Ruins of Alder

At this time, there is no movie or television series for Leven Thumps. There is mention on the and Leven Thumps blog about the movie rights have been sold, but no mention of any possible release date, unfortunately.

Also, if you like the book check out Obert Skye’s website for other information on his books and other various information:

www.obertskye .com

Please note, that these sites don’t seem to be updated regularly.

Keep in mind that we may receive commissions when you click our links and make purchases. However, this does not impact our reviews and comparisons. We try our best to keep things fair and balanced, in order to help you make the best choice for you.

To order your copy today of Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo, go to:


Barnes & Noble

To order Leven Thumps: The  Complete Series that contains also five books, go to:


Barnes & Noble

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *